Bartram Forest: Originally inhabited by Native Americans in 1794, Bartram Forest today features educational hiking and biking trails that allow visitors to see wildlife and natural wetlands. 478-445-5164.
Georgia College & State University: Founded in 1889 as a women’s college, the public liberal arts institution thrived for 78 years before becoming co-educational. It is located in the heart of downtown Milledgeville. 478-445-5004; gcsu.edu
Georgia Military College: Georgia Military College was created in 1879 with a campus that has housed and occupied the old state capitol buildings. 478-387-4900; gmc.edu.
Georgia's Old Capital Heritage Center at the Depot: Located on the former Central State Hospital Campus, the Heritage Center includes The Brown-Stetson-Sanford House, which is open for tours by appointment only. For more information, call 478-453-1803 or visit oldcapitalmuseum.org.
Historic Trolley Tours: Milledgeville’s guided trolley tour includes visits to historical venues throughout the downtown area. For tour information, call 478-452-4687 or go to visitmilledgeville.org.
John Marlor Art Center: One of four historic buildings making up the Allied Arts Center, the art gallery features rotating exhibits of local and regional artists. 478-452-8672; milledgevillealliedarts.com
Lockerly Arboretum and Rose Hill: A unique horticultural laboratory surrounding an 1850 Greek Revival home. For more information, call 478-452-2112 or visit lockerly.org.
Old Governor's Mansion: This National Historic Landmark was home of eight Georgia governors from 1839 to 1868 and occupied by Sherman. For more information, call 478-445-4545 or visit gcsu.edu/mansion.
Downtown Greensboro and Historic District: Downtown Greensboro plays host to numerous events throughout the year. The historic district features shaded streets and historic homes. For more information, visit greensboroga.gov.
Durhamtown: Hunting and dirt-bike riding resort near Union Point attracts dirt-bike enthusiasts from across the Southeast. Visitors can ride seven days a week For more information, call 706-622-4108 or visit durhamtown.com.
The Old Gaol: This 1807 rock jail is one of the oldest penal structures in Georgia. Patterned after Bastilles with castellated battlements. Open by appointment. 706-453-7592.
Greene County Historical Society & Museum: Collection of artifacts, photographs and manuscripts provide a glimpse of the people and events that shaped Greene County’s beginnings. For more information, call 706-453-7534.
Greensboro City Cemetery: Located on North East Street in downtown Greensboro, unique stones and ironwork mark the burial sites of soldiers, senators, a governor and other notables from Greene County’s history. Graves date from the 18th century to the present day and include soldiers from the Revolutionary War and more than 45 unknown confederate dead. Open daily.
Greensboro Post Office: The c. 1936 Greensboro Post Office located at 115 South Main Street boasts two of the last remaining Works Progress Administration murals in the United States Postal System. The mural, painted by a WPA artist in 1938, depicts local history from Greensboro’s days as a frontier settlement to the cotton fields of the 1930s.
Hawthorne Heights: Historic home built in 1848 in Union Point and one of the oldest houses in the city. Originally a raised cottage, it was enlarged along Greek Revival lines. Drive by tour only. 706-453-7592.
The Iron Horse: The 2,000-pound iron sculpture was created by Abbott Pattison and placed at the University of Georgia in 1954; later, it was moved to a Greene County farm near the Greene-Oconee countyline. An awesome photo spot, this iron horse is located in a cornfield on Hwy. 15 North and can only be seen seasonally. Call Greene County Chamber of Commerce, 706-453-7592, for more information.
L.L. Wyatt Museum: This law enforcement museum and hall of fame was named for Loy Lee Wyatt, a Greene County sherrif for 37 years. Century-old arrest warrants, a seized corn liquor still and an authentic former cell block are among items on display. 706-453-7592.
Scull Shoals, Oconee National Forest: This site on the Oconee River was home to Native Americans 10,000 years ago, a frontier settlement in 1782 and then Scull Shoals Mill Village in the early 1800s. For more information, call the Oconee Ranger District Office at 706-485-7110 or visit scullshoals.org
Downtown Madison and Historic District: Famed for its antebellum and period architecture, Madison’s Historic District attracts visitors from around the world. Antique shops, specialty stores and restaurants are found downtown.
Heritage Hall: Greek Revival House & Museum, furnished in the period. Tours available as well as rental for special events.Tours offered daily. For more information, call 706-342-9627.
Madison Artists Guild Gallery: A co-op of artist members showcasing painting, pottery, jewelry, metal sculptures, textiles and photography. Classes for kids and adults. 706-342-9360; themadisonartistsguild.org.
Madison-Morgan Cultural Center: Romanesque Revival-style building built in 1895 served as a school and library before becoming a center for visual arts exhibits and performing arts events. For more information, call 706-342-4743 or visit mmcc-arts.org
Madison Museum of Fine Art: The MMOFA has an international fine art permanent collection and a variety of rotating exhibits. For current exhibits and other information, call 706 485-4530 or visit mmofa.org.
Morgan County African-American Museum: Housed in the former home of Horace Moore (c. 1895), this museum serves to preserve, teach and research African-American history, art and culture. For more information, call 706-342-9191 or visit mcaam.org.
The Rogers House and Rose Cottage: The Rogers House was built circa 1810. The Rose Cottage was built circa 1891. Tours of both are offered daily. For more information, call 706-342- 9627.
Steffen Thomas Museum of Art: This museum was built by the family of artist Steffen Thomas to display his varied works from drawings to sculptures. It also hosts rotating exhibits of other artists and offers workshops. For more information, call 706-342-7557 or visit steffenthomas.org
Alice Walker Trail: A driving tour highlighting points of interest relating to Alice Walker, author of The Color Purple. 706-485-7701.
The Bronson House: This Greek Revival house is rich with history and now serves as headquarters for the Eatonton-Putnam Historical Society. For group tours and other information, call 706-485-6442 or visit e-pgahistory.org.
Butterflies & Blooms in the Briarpatch: This certified butterfly habitat sustains butterflies through all their life stages, tags and monitors migrating monarch butterflies and educates the public on how to incorporate larval host plants into their own gardens. Admission is free. Located at 617 North Jefferson St., Eatonton. Call 706-473-6035 for more information.
Georgia Writers Museum: This museum has permanent exhibits for local authors Alice Walker, Joel Chandler Harris and Flannery O’Connor, and rotating exhibits of other Georgia authors. For more information, call 706- 991-5119 or visit georgiawritersmuseum.com.
Veterans Wall of Honor Park: Located on West Marion Street in downtown Eatonton, this park includes the names and information of more than 1,800 Putnam County veterans from the Revolutionary War to present. Open daily. For more information, call 706-485- 2771.
Old School History Museum: Located at The Plaza Arts Center in downtown Eatonton, the museum chronicles Putnam County’s history, economy and notable residents from the days of Creek Indian occupation to today. For more information, call 706-485-3156 or visit theplazaartscenter.com.
The Plaza Arts Center: The Center is housed in a renovated school built in 1916 and offers a variety of performing arts shows, art exhibits, community events and creative classes. For more information, call 706-923- 1655 or visit theplazaartscenter.com.
Rock Eagle 4-H Center: Encompassing 1,428 acres, including an 110-acre lake, Rock Eagle is the largest of five centers operated by UGA in support of the state’s 4-H Program. For more information, call 706-484-2899 or go to “Georgia 4-H Facilities” at georgia4h.org.
Rock Eagle Mound: This stone effigy and its viewing tower are located at Rock Eagle 4-H Center. It is believed to have been created by Native Americans and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Rock Hawk Effigy & Trails: The site of Putnam County’s second stone effigy offers historical and recreational options, including camping, trails, boating, archery and educational displays. For more information, visit rockhawk.org.
The Uncle Remus Museum: Museum dedicated to the life and literary works of Putnam County native and author Joel Chandler Harris, who wrote the Uncle Remus stories. For more information, call 706-485-6856